Hourly workers ask for it by name: "can I get paid early?" Earned wage access (EWA) lets a worker draw part of the wages already earned in the current pay period before payday, and the provider gets the money back when payroll runs. For the employer, the questions are what it costs, how much work it adds to payroll, and whether the product is structured so it is not a loan. We read the CFPB's opinion and each provider's own documentation on October 28, 2026. Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.

For whom: an employer with hourly staff, typically restaurants, retail, care and field crews, choosing or keeping a payroll provider. Not for: a worker looking for an advance; ask your employer which program it offers.

What the federal regulator said

On December 23, 2025, the CFPB published an advisory opinion concluding that "Covered EWA" is not credit under Regulation Z, the Truth in Lending rule. To be covered, a program must meet four conditions: each draw stays within the wages the worker has actually earned, as shown by payroll data; the provider is repaid through a payroll process deduction at the next payroll; the provider has no claim against the worker if that deduction falls short, does no debt collection and does no credit reporting; and it does not assess the worker's credit risk. The opinion adds that a transfer to the provider from the worker's own bank account after wages are paid is not a payroll process deduction, and that, if an EWA product were credit, expedited-delivery fees and tips would not normally be finance charges. It also says it does not decide that EWA outside its definition is credit. State laws are separate, so check yours.

How the three providers handle it

Paychex FlexRUN Powered by ADPHomebase Payroll
ProgramPay on Demand, through its vendor PayactivPayactiv, as a listed app for RUN (other EWA apps are also listed)Cash Out, built into Homebase
How it is repaidPayroll deduction the employer authorizes Paychex to processDeducted from upcoming paychecks when payroll is processed; Payactiv passes deduction data back to ADPHomebase collects the cash out back from the worker's account on payday
Cost to the employerFees are presented and collected by the vendor from the worker, per Paychex's terms"No cost for employers""$0 cost to you"
Worker limitNot stated in the terms we readUp to $500 of earned wagesNot stated on the employer page
Worker feesSet by the vendorNot shown publicly on the ADP listingFees apply to instant cash outs

Our pick

An EWA program repaid through payroll: Paychex's Pay on Demand if you run Paychex Flex, Payactiv on RUN if you run ADP. In both, the advance comes back out of the next paycheck through the payroll provider, which is the repayment structure the CFPB's opinion describes, and the employer's cost on ADP is stated as zero. For the employer, the practical point is control: repayment is a deduction processed with payroll, not a debit pulled from the worker's bank account on payday.

Repayment through payroll is only one of the opinion's four conditions. The product pages we read describe repayment, not the rest, so before relying on the opinion ask the provider for its worker agreement and check that it promises no recourse, no debt collection, no sale of the amount and no credit reporting, and that it does no credit check. Ask also when it retries a deduction: Paychex's terms allow deductions in a later pay period if necessary, while the CFPB's description allows one additional deduction only after a technical or administrative error.

  • Homebase's Cash Out is the simplest to switch on if you already schedule and pay staff in Homebase: Homebase says it costs the employer nothing, and workers enroll in the Homebase app and connect the bank account that receives their direct deposit. Know its structure, though: Homebase says it collects the advance from the worker's account on payday, which the CFPB's opinion does not count as a payroll process deduction. That does not make it a loan under the opinion; it means the opinion's description does not cover it.
  • On another payroll provider, ask the same questions: is the advance repaid through payroll or from the worker's account, what does the worker agreement promise, and who sets the worker's fees.

Before you turn it on

  1. Tell workers what it costs them. Homebase says fees apply to instant cash outs, ADP's listing does not show the worker's fee and Paychex leaves it to its vendor; get each fee schedule from the provider and put it in writing.
  2. Reconcile the deduction. Each pay run should show the EWA deduction as its own line, so a worker can match it to the draw.
  3. Recheck at termination. A worker who leaves mid-period may have drawn wages that a final paycheck cannot cover; the CFPB's covered model leaves that loss with the provider, not the worker.

For the rest of the hourly-pay setup, see payroll for hourly teams and payroll for restaurants.

Traceable evidence

Sources for this decision

7 sources
  1. officialCFPB advisory opinion: Truth in Lending (Regulation Z); Non-application to Earned Wage Access Products (published December 23, 2025)Consumer Financial Protection Bureau · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: The CFPB's advisory opinion published in the Federal Register on December 23, 2025 (FR Doc. 2025-23735): Covered EWA is not credit under Regulation Z when each transaction stays within accrued wages shown by payroll data, the provider is repaid through a payroll process deduction at the next payroll, the provider warrants no recourse, no debt collection, no sale of the debt and no credit reporting, and it does not assess credit risk; a transfer from the worker's regular account after wages are paid is not a payroll process deduction; expedited delivery fees and tips are not, in the normal course, finance charges; the opinion does not state that non-Covered EWA is credit and does not decide state law.
    Open source ↗
  2. vendorPaychex Flex official product sitePaychex Flex · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Growing employers assessing payroll alongside HR, benefits, and service options.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  3. vendorRUN Powered by ADP official product siteRUN Powered by ADP · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small employers comparing a payroll-led system backed by a broad US HR services organization.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  4. vendorHomebase Payroll official product siteHomebase Payroll · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Main Street employers comparing payroll with scheduling, time clocks, and hourly team operations.. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  5. vendorPaychex Flex Perks supplemental terms (Rev. 7/2025), Pay on DemandPaychex · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Paychex's supplemental terms (Rev. 7/2025) stating that Pay on Demand gives workers access to a portion of earned but unpaid wages before the check date through its vendor Payactiv, that the client authorizes Paychex to process the related payroll deductions for that pay period and subsequent pay periods if necessary, and that vendors are responsible for presenting and collecting their fees from workers; it does not publish fee amounts or withdrawal limits.
    Open source ↗
  6. vendorADP Marketplace: Payactiv Earned Wage Access for RUN Powered by ADPPayactiv (ADP Marketplace listing) · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Payactiv's ADP Marketplace listing for RUN as read on October 28, 2026: employees can access up to $500 of already earned wages, amounts are deducted from upcoming paychecks when payroll is processed with deduction information passed back to ADP each pay period, and the editions page states no cost for employers; it does not publicly show the employee fee.
    Open source ↗
  7. vendorHomebase Cash Out for employersHomebase · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Homebase's Cash Out page as read on October 28, 2026: no cost to the employer, fees apply to instant cash outs, employees enroll in the Homebase app and connect the bank account receiving direct deposit, and on the next payday Homebase collects the cash out back from the employee's account; it does not state fee amounts, limits or excluded states.
    Open source ↗